Day 1 – Caroline’s Perspective

Well that’s day 1 done, on to day 2! It wasn’t too bad yesterday really, I generally sail through the first day and don’t even notice that I’m doing any kind of vlcd but it was a little bit more difficult yesterday. I don’t know whether it’s jut the fact that over the past few weeks with Christmas and New Year I’ve been eating worse than I normally would and so I had a bit of a sugar/carb crash but I had a little bit of a funny head and just felt a little bleh at times but it really wasn’t too bad, nothing I couldn’t handle. I think there was one point where I felt genuine hunger which was about 8pm so I made a chocolate mint shake and had a bath and that sorted me out. I think today will be easier with the lack of carb crash but harder as I think I’ll feel genuine hunger more but I’ll be kept busy today, just waiting for a parcel to arrive between 10 and 11 and then I’m going to head over to pick up a bookcase I bought on eBay (£3 bargain!) and go to school to change my reading area in my classroom. The biggest thing for me in the first few days is keeping busy, it’s if I stop and have time to think that I feel the hunger creep in.

Packs weren’t too bad really, liked some more than others but they’re all more than bearable. Here are my reviews.

Creamy Chocolate shake: Jury is still out on this one, it used to be a favourite on a previous diet and I often added in coffee which was lovely but this time I tried the Caramel Douwe Egberts coffee and I’m not sure if that was the issue or not, going to give the shake another try by itself in the next day or two. It wasn’t too bad though, definitely drinkable and I think it probably was the coffee that made it seem like it had a slightly funny taste as I don’t think I added enough to give it a strong enough flavour to make it distinguishable but enough to slightly taste it without really recognising it.

Chocolate Orange bar: Lovely flavour but a little dry really, it helped me get some extra water down though!

Pasta Carbonara: Mmmm lovely!! I just wish there was more of it, I added a little garlic powder and pepper and it was lovely. Not to self, less garlic next time though! It certainly is better than the one I used to have before that I would end up having to leave to soak for ages so the pasta wasn’t hard, I was quite impressed with it.

Chocolate Mint shake: AMAZING! HEAVEN! I think that says it all… a firm favourite.

 

Leave a comment